If you own a pest control business and want to learn more about pest control marketing, this article will be a valuable guide. We are going to tell you exactly what you need to know about pest control marketing to effectively drive new customers to your business. We are going to focus mostly on digital marketing for pest control companies, but we will touch on direct mail marketing as well.
If you want to learn how to drive more traffic to your pest control website, bookmark this page. This guide to pest control marketing will break everything down in easy to understand sections. Whether you want to do pest control marketing yourself or hire a pest control marketing company, this guide will explain everything so you can make an informed decision.
Pest Control Marketing Terms
When it comes to digital marketing for pest control companies, there are a lot of confusing terms. The first thing we need to do is define these terms. We will use common pest control marketing terms throughout the article. Please use this section as a reference for terms you are not familiar with. Here are some common pest control marketing terms that are important to know:
Pay Per Click (PPC): Pay per click marketing refers to paying for ads that people see online when they are searching. Most commonly, PPC refers to ads you pay for to show up on Google. With Pay Per Click advertising you pay to show up at the top of Google’s search results. Each time a potential customer clicks on your ad, you are charged a fee for that click (pay per click).
Search Engine Optimization (SEO): Search engine optimization is writing good content for your website and properly configuring your website. The goal is to tell Google what your website / specific page is about and then rank organically. If you execute SEO properly, you will show up for specific search terms in Google’s organic results. These are the search results that google displays below the ads that show up at the top of each search page.
Keywords: Keywords refer to a specific string of words that you want to rank for. For example, you may want to rank for the keyword “Pest Control Service in Denver.” You can either pay for ads (PPC) or rank organically (SEO) that makes your website display for “Pest Control Service in Denver”. Your focus keyword should be specific to the customers you are trying to attract.
Backlinks: Backlinks refer to when other website link to your page. For example, if a blog about pest control marketing has a link that directs someone to your page, this is a backlink. Backlinks are extremely important for SEO. Think of a backlink as someone talking about you. The more people are talking about you, the more relevant and important Google believes you are.
Black Hat/White Hat: There are two types of pest control marketing. Black hate and white hate. Black hat is when you take shortcuts to pay for back links, auto generate content, and try and trick google into ranking your page. This almost never works, and when it does it eventually is discovered by Google and will hurt you in the long run. White hat refers to doing things the right way by writing original content and getting legitimate back links.
Customer Acquisition Cost: Your customer acquisition cost is simply the amount of marketing dollars you have to spend to acquire a new customer. For example, if you spend $500/month on pest control marketing and get 1 new customer each month, your customer acquisition cost is $500/customer.
Customer Lifetime Value: This is an extremely important term to understand for pest control business owners. Customer lifetime value refers to the total revenue that you will gain over the life of your customer. For example, if you sign up a customer for pest control service at $50/month and that customer stays with you for 3 years, that customer had a lifetime value of $1,800 ($50 X 12 Months X 3 years). Don’t forget that the $1,800 is gross and does not take into account your expenses, time, etc. You need to understand your average customer lifetime value. If you are new business it may be difficult to impossible to estimate. The customer life time value is important because it helps you determine whether your pest control marketing dollar are worth it. If your customer acquisition cost is $500 but you make $1,800 (less expenses) you are making a profit by spending that $500 to acquire your customer.
Pest Control Marketing Overview
Before we dive into pest control marketing topics, it’s important to take a step back and look at the what we are trying to accomplish. Your goal as a pest control business owner is to acquire customers for the lowest cost possible, and then generate the highest amount of revenue possible from these customers.
We are going to be focusing on acquiring customers, but you should also spend time finding ways to maximize the value of each customer. Are there additional services you can provide? Monthly servicing you can recommend to customers who had a one time rodent problem? Are you showing up on time to appointments? Do you or your employees appear professional? Are you asking for Google reviews from your customers? You could spend a million dollars on marketing but if the core business is not doing well, your customer lifetime value will be lower and you’ll be wasting money.
In the sections below we will cover PPC, SEO, and direct mail marketing. You should know up front that you will either need to spend significant time learning pest control marketing or spend significant money paying for pest control marketing. There are no short cuts in pest control marketing. There is no such thing as cheap pest control marketing that is also effective. Pest control marketing is an investment in your business, and it is also a risk! You need to be prepared to spend significant time and/or money on your chosen pest control marketing strategy and be comfortable with the fact it may or may not yield positive results.
To put the actual cost in blunt terms, you should be prepared to spend $1,500 to $2,000 for 3 months of PPC pest control marketing or $3,000+ for 6 months of SEO services. The SEO you could learn and do on your own, but the PPC has a cost even if you know what you’re doing.
Below we are literally going to be explaining the services that we charge pest control companies for. Why would we do that? It’s extremely time consuming and complicated to provide pest control marketing services. The question you need to ask yourself is, where is my time best spent? Most pest control business owners are focused on their core business. They don’t have time to learn PPC, SEO, etc and simply need to focus on their core business. If you are more tech inclined, perhaps you spend the time on PPC & SEO, and hire someone to perform the pest control services you are offering. Only you can determine where your time is better spent.
Regardless of whether you want to do pest control marketing yourself or pay a pest control marketing company (like us) to do it, the information below will be extremely helpful!
Pest Control Website Design
One of the most common mistakes we see pest control business owners make is spending a ton of money on marketing to drive traffic to a terrible website. Put yourself in the shoes of your customer. If you saw an ad for a business and went to their website, but found the website is outdated, difficult to navigate, and looks terrible, would you stick around and give that company your business? Of course not! You need a high quality website that will turn potential clients into paying clients. Whether your get a pest control website design from us for just $49.99/month, use a pest control website builder, find a good wordpress pest control website template, or have one custom developed, you need a high quality website.
There is simply no point in spending money on pest control marketing if you don’t have a good pest control website design. Your pest control website is the foundation of your business. In today’s world, your website is literally the face of your business. Customers will likely never visit your physical location. Your pest control website is the one opportunity you have to show customers you are legitimate.
A high quality website designed to convert potential customers into paying customers is the most important first step to take. If you don’t have a high quality pest control website design, check out our designs on our home page. If you’re not sure if your website design is good enough, fill out the contact form at the bottom of this page and provide us with a link. We will review your website and give you honest feedback on whether it needs to be updated.
Pest Control PPC vs SEO
Once you have a high quality pest control website design, you can turn your attention to pest control marketing. When you want to market your website to potential clients, your number one goal is to be found on Google search results. Google has over a 90% market share of search results! Don’t waste time focusing on any other search engine until you are king of Google search results.
The question now becomes, how do we make sure our company shows up on Google? The answer is PPC ads and SEO.
Pay Per Click (PPC) Pest Control Marketing
Below will dig into PPC ads a bit deeper, but it’s important to understand the difference between PPC and SEO. With PPC ads, it’s exactly like it sounds! You are paying for each individual click. Think of PPC ads as a shortcut to the top of Google. The benefit of PPC ads is that you do not have to spend significant time on SEO writing content and building backlinks. Instead, you can simply pay to be featured at the top of Google for certain keywords. The good news is that you can get to the top of Google search results tomorrow. The bad news is that as soon as you stop paying you will stop showing up!
In our opinion, PPC ads are the best place to start advertising your pest control business. The reason is that you will get immediate feedback. You will quickly drive traffic to your website. Once you have traffic coming in you can see whether you are getting results from your pest control marketing spend.
Search Engine Optimization (SEO) Pest Control Marketing
Search engine optimization is when you write quality content for your website, which is focused on a specific keyword, and is also optimized for Google. In addition to this, you must also build out backlinks to your website to show Google your website has authority. If you do this effectively, you will start showing up in Google’s search results organically. This means that when a user searches for “pest control service in Denver”, Google will display your website in the search results without paying money.
In our opinion, SEO is best for very established pest control companies that already spend money on PPC ads. SEO is the long game. With SEO your goal is to rank in google and get “free” traffic that pays you back for the time and effort you put in writing the quality content and getting good back links. Once you get good quality content ranking in Google, it may stay there for years and continue to generate new revenue for your pest control company.
Recommended: Combine PPC and SEO Pest Control Marketing
We highly recommend doing both PPC and SEO in highly competitive markets. Let’s take a specific keyword as an example, “Pet Friendly Pest Control in Denver.” Generally speaking, your home page will not focus exclusively on this keyword. If you run PPC ads for this keyword, it may be semi-effective to drive traffic to the home page since the potential customer is looking for pest control service. However, if you had written high quality content (SEO) with the focus keyword of “Pet Friendly Pest Control in Denver” and then drive customer to this page when they use that keyword on PPC, you are much more likely to convert this customer into a client.
Realistically, most people cannot afford to do both in the beginning. That is ok! Start with PPC and build up from there.
Pay Per Click Vs Search Engine Optimization in Google
In the example search below, you can see the ads that were paid for (PPC) at the top, and then the organic results further down below. Google constantly changes how they display their search results so when you search it may look different. However, it will always work generally the same. When you pay for ads via PPC you will end up above the organic search results. Sometimes google will show up to 3 PPC ads before it starts displaying organic search results.
Pest Control PPC
We highly recommend starting out with PPC pest control marketing if you have a limited budget. The reason we recommend PPC pest control marketing is that you can control how much money you spend and you can quantify results. It would literally take a book to describe how to set up your account properly and run ads, so below we are just hitting the highlights.
Below we show you how to set up a basic PPC account and we are going to give you two key things to adjust in your Google account to save thousands of dollars. Hint: Targeted Locations and Negative Keywords.
Step 1: Sign Up for Google Ads
The first thing you need to do is sign up for a Google Adwords accounts. The Google adwords account is where you are going to set up your ads on Google. Pro tip: Sign up for an account ASAP even if you have no intention of using it now. Google frequently sends post cards with $50 and $100 in matching funds for new accounts that don’t start spending right away! You’ll need to set up the billing account within Google Adwords before you can run ads.
Step 2: Create Campaigns, Ad Groups, & Ads
Once you are in your Google adwords account, you’ll need to create a new Campaign. The Campaign is the highest level and for most pest control companies, you can simply call your Campaign “Pest Control Leads” or something similar. A new campaign wouldn’t be necessary unless you were targeting other services. For example, if you were also doing Lawn Care, you would want a new campaign that targets “Lawn Care Leads” so you can track that activity separately.
Once your campaign is set up, you need to create “Ad Groups.” An Ad Group helps you keep different types of ads separated. For example, you might have an Ad Group that targets a location like “Denver” and another Ad Group that targets another location like “Aurora”. The reason you want separate ad groups is so that you can show more targeted ads to those specific locations.
Next, you’ll want to start creating ads. Using the “Denver” ad group above, you may have an ads that targets “Best Pest Control in Denver” or “Pet Friendly Pest Control in Denver” in your Denver. You could run identical ads in your “Aurora” ad group, but you would want to change the specific ads to be “Best Pest Control in Aurora” or “Pet Friendly Pest Control in Aurora”.
Step 3: Set Targeted Locations
Before you runs ads, you want to ensure that the person seeing your ad is in your target market. The number of pest control companies who don’t take this simple step with their PPC campaigns is staggering. Each month these companies are losing hundreds or thousands of dollars on pest control marketing. Imagine someone sitting in Florida and typing in “Denver Pest Control”. It’s possible that this person owns a home in Denver or is looking on behalf of someone else, but the odds you convert someone physically located in Florida into a client who pays for pest control service in Denver is extremely low! You want to filter out this traffic and avoid wasted ad spend.
In your Google Adwords account, go to “Locations” and then “Targeted”. Within this section, you will add your targeted locations. Google allows you to do this in a number of ways by State, County, Zip Code, etc. You can use whatever option you feel is most appropriate. By doing this properly, Google will only show ads to those people who are physically in the location you serve increasing your chances of success. Note: Under settings, make sure you select the “People in or regularly in your targeted locations” option.
Step 4: Set Negative Keywords
Targeted locations is important, but negative keywords is by far the biggest mistake we see in pest control marketing. If you are not using negative keywords, we can guarantee you will lose thousands of dollars in ad spend. A negative keyword tells Google not to display your ad if a user puts a specific word in their search query. For example, if someone types in “Pest Control SEO” you do not want to market to this person, we do! Obviously someone looking for pest control service is not going to type in SEO. Only someone who owns a pest control business and needs information about pest control SEO is going to type in that type of search query. You would want to add “SEO” as a negative keyword in your account so that Google does not display your ad when someone types that into a search engine.
Unfortunately negative keywords are mostly trial and error. At Pest Control Domains, we have an extensive list of negative keywords that we use by default to help our client save money when we manage their account. If you are doing this on your own, you will want to run ads for a couple weeks and then check “Keywords” and then “Search Terms”. You will then be able to see the exact query (typos and all!) that people used before clicking on your ads. When you see queries like “Pest Control Marketing” or “Pest Control License” you’ll then know that you need to add “Marketing” and “License” to your negative keyword list.
Step 5: Run ads and adjust
If you are doing PPC pest control marketing on your own, it’s basically trial and error. You’ll run ads and adjust as you go. Each week you’ll want to review your account, add negative keywords, and adjust your ads to get the best results and avoid wasted ad spend. Wasted ad spend can eat up well over 70% of your ad spend if you don’t know what you’re doing.
The steps above are just the tip of the iceberg. We have provided you with the two biggest pit falls we see people make with PPC pest control marketing. However, there are still many more factors that going into PPC pest control marketing. These things include ad extensions, display ads, bidding the right amount, bidding strategy, responsive search ads, call outs, rich snippets, properly formatting negative keywords, and the list goes on and on. In short, running a PPC pest control marketing campaign is not easy.
Professionally Managed PPC Pest Control Marketing
At Pest Control Domains, we offer PPC pest control marketing for $99.99/month + ad spend. We recommend a minimum spend of $500/month and we require a minimum commitment of 3 months. After 3 months, you can cancel your PPC management/ad spend at any time. If you would like to talk about having us professionally manage your PPC pest control marketing campaign, contact us using the contact form at the bottom of this page.
Pest Control SEO
If you want to learn about pest control SEO this section is for you. Similar to PPC pest control marketing, entire books can be written about the subject of SEO. It would literally be impossible for us to cover SEO in detail in a single article. Below we are going to hit the highlights and tell you the most important things to know about pest control SEO.
An important thing to understand about pest control SEO is that there are no guarantees. There are many factors that play a role in how well you will rank in Google. If your domain name was just registered, it will be harder to rank in Google than if you have a domain name that has been active for 10+ years. If you are in a highly competitive market like New York, it may be nearly impossible to outrank well established pest control companies. Certain websites like homeadvisor.com will nearly always rank ahead of you. You can work incredibly hard at SEO and not see any results at all depending on your market and many other factors.
The most important thing to understand about SEO is that it takes time!!! We require a 6 months commitment for pest control SEO services. The reason is simple. You literally cannot provide effective pest control SEO in 1, 2, or even 3 months. Pest control SEO is a long term commitment to establishing your website online. This is also the reason that pest control SEO is generally expensive. It simply takes a lot of time and expertise to execute properly. If you have ever talked to other pest control business owners, you may have heard them say that they were ripped off with SEO services. It’s possible they were. It’s also very possible that they only did it for a few months or they were in a super competitive market where it was simply not possible to out rank existing companies.
Did you know that 75% of people do not go past page 1 of Google search results? If you’re not first, you’re last. SEO is extremely hard to do because you must get to page 1. Anything short of page 1 is virtually worthless.
Below we are going to show you how to get started with pest control SEO!
Best Platform for Pest Control SEO
If you want to have good pest control SEO results you need to start with a good foundation. Obviously your pest control website design needs to look good, but what that website is built on matters. We recommend WordPress. The reason we recommend WordPress is that it’s got a lot of good plugins to assist with SEO. There are certain things you need to edit/control/adjust as you are writing and WordPress makes doing this easy. Some build it yourself websites like Wix.com etc offer the ability to adjust some things but not all of them. They also don’t give you any tools to make it easier.
Assuming you are using WordPress, we highly recommend Yoast for SEO.
Writing Content for Pest Control SEO
It may be obvious, but the most important aspect of SEO is the quality of the content that you write. You can do everything else right, but if your content is not quality it will not rank in Google. Nearly every aspect of SEO and PPC can be learned. However, writing quality content can be extremely difficult for some. If you hated English classes in high school, writing high quality content may be difficult or extremely time consuming. Be realistic with yourself. If you know you are bad writer, hiring someone else to manage your SEO probably makes a lot more sense than spending hours writing mediocre content that won’t rank well.
High Quality Content
As we discussed above you need high quality content to rank well in Google. What does that mean exactly? Writing is obviously subjective. If you ask 100 people to read and article, each persons opinion of the writing will vary significantly. When it comes to the actual content itself, we recommend writing content that is both easy to read and easy to understand. In the Yoast SEO plugin on the “reading” tab, you will see a flesch reading score. This should be green on every post. You want content that is easy for your target audience to consume.
In addition, Google favors content that is longer rather than shorter. For a period of time some black hat SEO techniques involved stuffing a bunch of keywords into a very short article and churning out junk content. Google caught on and now favors longer posts.
The last thing we should mention is that your content should compel the reader to take action. Your goal is to get your potential client to fill out the contact form or pick up the phone. If you write content that ranks well in Google but doesn’t lead to new clients it doesn’t matter!
Technical Factors for SEO
When Google reviews your website, it does so with a computer that crawls the website. Since a computer is crawling the website it reads your website different than a human would. There are certain things you need to do to ensure the crawler understands what your website is about. For high quality SEO pest control, this would include the following:
Heading Tags: The heading tag should include your focus keyword. They don’t all need to include the focus keyword, but the H1 tag should. You should only have one H1 tag on each page.
Image Alt Text: Any images that appear on your page should have the keyword included.
Meta Title/Description: You should set the meta title and meta description on every post. This is the link text and description text that actually appears in search results.
Linking: You should have both internal links and external links on every page.
Keywords for SEO
In addition to high quality writing and structuring your content for Google’s crawler, you also want to have a focus keyword. The focus keyword should be specific. Put yourself in the shoes of a potential client. What types of things would they search on Google to find your service? High quality pest control SEO is all about picking the right target keywords. For example, “Pet Friendly Pest Control Service in Denver” or “Affordable Pest Control Service in Denver” would be examples of good keywords. An example of a bad keyword would be “Pest Control”. This is too broad. It is not location specific. It does not target a specific query type (pets, affordability, etc).
As you are writing, you should put a focus on your keyword and make sure to weave it through out the post. Can you guess the Keyword for this post? It’s Pest Control Marketing. In addition, Pest Control SEO and Pest Control PPC are also focus keywords for this post and you’ll see them used throughout. This helps Google identify what your page is about. When you search Pest Control SEO it sees that keyword used repeatedly and includes this page in the search results for that search term (or a variation).
Be careful not to “keyword stuff”. You want to use your keywords naturally. You don’t want to stuff your keyword in so that your text is difficult to read. Yoast has a great tool that shows your keyword density and lets you know if you have used it too much or too little.
Backlink Building for Pest Control SEO
Now that you have written some amazing content, structured for google, with an awesome keyword, you’re about to rake in the dough with new clients visiting your website right? Not so fast. While Google is looking for these things, it also needs to see that your website has authority. You gain authority through backlinks. Backlinks tell Google that your website (not the page you wrote about) is an authority.
As a reminder, a backlink is simply another website linking to your website directly. For example, by linking the word Google to Google’s website, we have now created a back link for Google on this website. As other websites link to your website, this creates a new back link which indicates to Google that your website may have more authority.
Backlinking is extremely complex and constantly changing. It’s important to point out that not all backlinks are created equal. If you get spam backlinks Google may actually penalize you in search results. You need high quality back links from quality websites.
There are also two types of backlinks. Do follow and No Follow. A Do Follow link will pass authority to your website. A No Follow backlink will not pass any authority to your website. Certain websites like Facebook, Linkedin, etc have No Follow links. They do this to prevent people from creating spam content on their website for the sole purpose of getting a backlink. You need to get backlinks from websites that will pass a Do Follow link to your website which passes that authority on to you.
How to get backlinks
This is where things get tricky. Backlinks are a ton of work! There is simply no way around it. There is no quick way to get high quality do follow back links. You simply have to put in the time to generate new back links for your website. This can involve listing at a quality directory for services or reaching out to a blog related to pest control and asking them to write and article and linking to your website. A good way to discover where to get backlinks is to use a tool like Ahrefs.com. You can use this website to track your competitors backlinks. This may give you some ideas on where to get backlinks yourself.
When you consider Pest Control SEO services are expensive, it’s because you have to write quality content, structured properly, with a good keyword, and you must create backlinks to the website. If you aren’t doing all of these things the SEO campaign will not be successful. It’s extremely time consuming and tedious and there are no short cuts.
Pest Control SEO Service
For most pest control business owners, taking the time to learn SEO and WordPress, and then writing quality content, and then painstakingly getting backlinks to your website is simply too much. If you want a high quality pest control SEO service at an affordable price, we can help.
At Pest Control Domains we offer pest control SEO service for $499.99/month with a minimum 6 months commitment. When you take a moment to consider all that goes into Pest Control SEO it’s easy to see why. Pest Control SEO simply takes a lot of time and effort and there is no easy shortcut to make it go quickly. To get results you need high quality content, structured properly, with high quality backlinks that will help your website start ranking. Pest control SEO is a long term investment in your business.
If you are interested in Pest Control SEO please fill out the contact form at the bottom of this page. We’ll be happy to do a free consultation and discuss your website and SEO needs.
Pest Control Direct Mail Marketing
While the focus on this article is Pest Control SEO and Pest Control PPC, it’s also important to mention direct mail marketing. Direct mail marketing is still an effective way to obtain new pest control customers. If you are interested in pest control direct mail marketing, we recommend finding a good graphic designer. You will want to create some compelling post cards to send to customers. We highly recommend 99designs.com to get high quality pest control direct mail marketing material. At that website you can get multiple graphic designers to compete giving you a lot of marketing options to pick from.
While direct mail marketing for pest control companies can still be effective, it’s tough to measure results.
Pest Control Marketing Agency
If you are looking for a pest control marketing agency with extensive experience in digital marketing we can help. At Pest Control Domains we know how to help you run a successful PPC and SEO campaign for your pest control business.
If you are considering your options, fill out the contact form below. We will quickly get in touch with you and have a no pressure and no obligation discussion about your business and how PPC and SEO marketing might fit into your marketing plans.
Pest Control Marketing – Free Consultation
Questions about Pest Control Marketing?
Here are some common questions and answers related to our Pest Control Marketing services:
Pay Per Click Management: $99.99/month + ad spend. We recommend a minimum ad spend of $500/month. We require a 3 month minimum commitment.
Search Engine Optimization: $499.99/month with a 6 month minimum commitment.
Yes, we require a minimum 6 month commitment for SEO services and a minimum 3 month commitment for PPC services.
You simply won’t see results if you try PPC or SEO for 1 month, it takes more time.
For PPC, even though we optimize your campaign up front, it can take a few months to fine tune negative keywords and adjust ads, etc to see the best results.
For SEO, there is a lot to do and a few months just won’t yield positive results. Even 6 months is a short amount of time to see strong results from SEO, it really is a long term investment in your business and at the 6 month mark you may just be starting to see results. Anything short of 6 months is just setting up your company to fail at SEO.
For PPC, we will bill you $49.99/monthly, and Google will directly bill you for the ad spend each month.
For SEO, we will bill you $499.99/monthly.
Yes! You absolutely must have a high quality website design or you are wasting money on ad spend. Check out our home page for some high quality website design options.
For PPC marketing, no we can run ads that direct clients to any type of website design.
For SEO services, it would depend on what platform your website is built. As mentioned above, wordpress is the most effective platform for Pest Control SEO. We can provide pest control services on other platforms, but we would need to review your specific website and let you know if we can provide effective pest control SEO for your company.